LMP 2013

Philosophy of Logic, Mathematics, and Physics Graduate Conference

May 18-19, 2013

Western University, Stevenson Hall, Room 1145

With Keynote Address from Hans Halvorson (Princeton University)

“The Invariant Structure of Equivalent Theories”

Held in conjunction with the UWO Annual Philosophy of Physics Conference (May 17, 2013)

May 18, 2013

9:30 am         Teresa Kouri (Ohio State University) “Pluralism, Language and Meaning”
10:45 am  James Martin (Princeton University) “On the Mathematical Role of Geometric Impunity”
11:45 am   Lunch
1:00 pm   Charles Sebens (University of Michigan) “Quantum Mechanics as Classical Physics”
2:15 pm   Benjamin Feintzeig (University of California, Irvine) “Hidden Variables and Commutativity in Quantum Mechanics”
3:30 pm   Keynote Address: Hans Halvorson (Princeton University) “The Invariant Structure of Equivalent Theories”

May 19, 2013

9:30 am         Ekaterina Kuyshkina (Université Paris – Panthéon-Sorbonne)                          “Fitch’s Paradox and the Logic of a Rational Agent”
10:45 am  Lucas Dunlap (University of Maryland)“Does the existence of a CTC allow for superluminal signaling?”
11:45 am   Lunch
1:00 pm   Thomas Barrett (Princeton University)“On the Structure of Classical Mechanics”
2:15 pm   Joseph Rachiele (Princeton Unniversity)    “What QFT Says about the Building Blocks of Matter: A Cautionary Tale for No-Go Results about Ontology”
3:15 pm   Awarding of the Robert K. Clifton Memorial Book Prize     Winner: Thomas Barrett

The LMP Philosophy Graduate Conference is made possible by support from The Rotman Institute of Philosophy, The UWO Department of Philosophy, The Faculty of Arts and Humanities, The Faculty of Social Science, The UWO Department of English and the Joint Fund for Graduate Student Research and Scholarship – Research Western, from the Society of Graduate Students and the School of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies.


Molly Kao (chair), Michael Cuffaro, Melissa Jacquart, Jessey Wright, Josh Luczak, Jared Richards